The 2022 Maryland Independent State wrestling tournament took place last Friday and Saturday, February 18-19. The tournament featured private schools all over Maryland, including schools from the MIAA, WCAC, and IAC conferences. The MIAA well-represented Maryland’s private schools in the tournament, bringing multiple state champions to the table. Here is the full list of accolades earned by MIAA wrestlers:

106 lb. weight class

[1st place, State Champion] Sean Garretson ’25 [Archbishop Spalding]

4th place- Cayden Farver ’25 [Loyola Blakefield]

5th place- Nicky Melfi [Severn]

6th place- William Hudson [Mount St. Joseph]

113 lb. weight class